Start a garden now! Use those leaves with lasagna gardening

Lasagna gardening is one of, if not the, easiest method of starting a garden. I discovered a form of this kind of minimalistic, simple gardening when I started using newspaper and cardboard for mulch, and found that even Bermuda grass could be killed with enough of this organic covering.  The simplest  way of doing this is:

  • Mow lawn or weedy area
  • Put cardboard or thick layers of newspapers
  • Pile on organic materials such as leaves, grass clippings, straw, and compost in such a way that the  materials don’t blow away.
  • Cut holes in cardboard or newspaper and plant either seeds or plants.

This article offers both inspiration and practical tips from a gardener who transformed a barren plot to a beautiful garden.

This article gives additional details that I found helpful.

I have collected the cardboard and leaves, so today I am going to get out and make the beds in the front yard of the home I am staying at.  I get to trade my gardening skills for rent–plus reap the benefits of the harvest. Now that is a great way to simplify my life!

I would love to hear your comments on easy, simple ways of gardening. One question I would love answered is:

What are the easiest and cheapest ways to get high quality minerals in the soil?

 

Leave a Reply

