Creating a simple blog/website: Intro and motivation

I think anyone, no matter how tech savvy or inept they are, can do a WordPress.com blog that looks very similar to a website. I feel hopeful that by the time you read this article you will be able to get a very simple blog set up which can easily start looking like a website with the additional tips I will share.

When I started blogging about a decade ago, I focused on using the WordPress.com blog, and I am so glad I did!  Although I am far from being an expert, because I am not much of a geek, I struggle with learning new things.  But if someone who is a slow learner like I am can do it, so can you!  If you are a person who feels intimidated by learning new things on the computer, my dream is that I can share with you the most important things you need to know so you won’t get overwhelmed if you can’t find one crucial detail.  Please let me know if you have questions so that I can learn from you how I can teach this skill even better.

Why is it called a blog/website?

I am using this term because although you will be making a blog, you can take some simple steps which help make the blog look more like a website.

Why start a blog/website?

If you have a message of any kind to get out there, I think a blog/website is the only way to go. Yes, you can combine it easily with Facebook and other social media. But only a blog/website will give you:

One place to go for all the information about your passion or business for clients or readers

An URL address for the specific article that you  have written which you may wish to share with others whether in an email, social media or a newsletter

A platform which can be like a playground where you can learn how to most effectively and creatively share what is important for you

Once you master one blog/website, you can easily make others for special projects and interests. Or help others do the same. This is a great gift to be able to offer.

Ready to get started? Click here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

