Are you looking for meaning and purpose in your life?

I will never forget how I felt when I was nineteen, in the year 1973, when I wanted desperately to find my “niche.”  I didn’t realize at the time that I wanted to find purpose and meaning. After going to school for 13 years (I had just finished my first year of college) I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life.  I felt compelled (that is another story) to leave college and travel, ending up spending over a year in Europe, Turkey, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran, India and Sri Lanka by myself. On the plane trip home, I had a revelation: I needed to serve doing things that I felt joyful doing.

That search for meaning lead me to many careers and also to being a parent for twenty five years (my most meaningful work).  I have come to a place where I yearn to help people to simplify their lives so that they can find that meaning and purpose for their own lives, and their loved ones.

I found this article about how important it is for coaches to help their client find meaning and purpose, and this triggered tears even as I write, feeling so grateful that at a relatively early age of twenty I got clearer on my purpose–to serve with joy.  The next forty years were spent discovering how I might best use my talents to serve joyfully, and I continue to learn new things about myself that help me lead an increasingly purposeful life. 

When I read this quote, I felt encouraged.

“To be of support, the coach must has found himself already some answers to his search for meaning which is reflected in his motivation to work as coach in the service of others, of humanity.”

When people call on me, they are usually pretty desperate in their need to downsize, de-clutter and get organized. I feel great joy and flow as we work together to discover what is really important to them both in possessions and their activities.  I have always wanted to help my clients discern what they can do to feel fulfilled, but because I looked at my expertise as being the organizer, I did not feel qualified to try to help them to go even deeper.

I am happy to be on a journey with Rich McCoy, Scott Masters and Una Jasmine White as we create a coaching support team so that we can figure out how we can best coach and what our focuses will be.  As much as I love helping simplify their lives, what they do after they de-clutter their environment to realize their life-giving goals that are in alignment with their purpose is much more inspiring to me. 

I hope you find value in the article which inspired me to write this blog post.

 

 

Leave a Reply

