Organizing in my sleep

I do a regular organizing job for a client who is constantly tweaking her home business. She needs help in all areas–computer, papers, space and more. I always find working for her a delightful challenge because I never know what she is going to need next. Yet I always seem to come up with an idea that really works for her. 

One day I was listening to her as she was telling me the current problem. I had not gotten much sleep the night before, and I was a bit sleepy. I actually felt myself dozing off, but caught myself just in time. Fortunately, she did not seem to notice. 

After she explained the challenge, I wondered, “How am I possibly going to figure this one out–I am barely awake.”  But then I just started writing some things down for her and the ideas just flowed. I was rather surprised at this because I was sure I needed to be more alert to find solutions. 

Normally I am wide awake and energized during my consultations, but I am happy to say that even though I was tired, I still offered her a solution that she loved! Now that is satisfying. 

Leave a Reply

