Organizing your thoughts–a scripture to help decrease inner clutter

I have heard that clutter is a reflection of your thoughts and feelings. This is natural since if a person holds a lot of resentments, unforgiveness, frustrations, doubts and other uncomfortable feelings, events happen which consume time and keep a person from being able to focus on order in his or her life.

I have certainly found this to be true in my life. One good fight with my former husband, who is still my good friend, means we need to have a long talk and work things out. That is great–but takes  a lot of time. If  I had dealt with the feelings in a constructive way, such as in the learning letter that I shared in another post here, I would have saved time, not to mention withdrawing emotional currency from the emotional bank account that I have with him.

I am going to start writing more about inner organization as well as outer organization, and I feel very excited about that.

So first I want to share a scripture that I encourage you to write on a 3 x 5 card and stick it in your pocket. Look at it periodically during the day. Share it with friends and family as a topic of conversation. It will be easier to memorize if you do this method. And it will sink into your heart.  Even if you aren’t that crazy about the Bible–I hope you will be open to looking objectively at these words said by Jesus, and see if they might ring true for you. Let me know how this works for you if you would. I would love to hear your story.

“Fortunate and to be envied are those who are clear and clean in their thoughts and feelings, for they shall gaze with wide open eyes at something remarkable–at God.”  Matt. 5:8

Leave a Reply

